Tales of a Wandering Mind: The Story Begins

baccano39xo6-avatarYou know how you watch the opening to an anime and you see some character who doesn’t show up until episode 8, 9, 0r 11.  I’m that guy.  I’m going out of town to go on a geology trip to visit a bunch of national parks out west in Utah, Nevada, and Arizona for the next three weeks.  This means no video games until I get back home on June 13.  I left home today and  I’m staying on campus for a few days before I leave on the 26th to go on the actual trip, so I have internet access for now.  Once I leave campus to go on the trip, I can’t guarantee I’ll have internet access for the next three weeks.

In short, I’m out of town May 23 – June 13.

I’m glad I beat Riviera: The Promised Land for the PSP while I was home from May 14 to May 23.  I started the game at the beginning of the year, one of the first games I played on my PSP for the first time in three years.  I made 9 hours of progress before I got distracted by other games like

God of War, Eternal Sonata, and Shin Megami Tensei: Persona 4. The last game took me a couple months to beat because I played it on and off.  I would play it for anywhere from 2 to 8 hours a day and then take a break for a week or so.  I loved Persona 4 from beginning to end.  Once I beat it, I found it very tough to find another RPG to start or continue because I couldn’t help but compare it to the game I just beat.  I couldn’t get into Wild Arms 3 because I found it to be just like every other JRPG, only it has a western theme.  The radar system was a pain in the ass to use in the overworld and the game seemed way too easy.  A lot of RPGs don’t seem as difficult once you finish a Shin Megami Tensei game.  P4 was easy compared to Persona 3 FES, but that’s beside the point.  I played Wild Arms 3 for 4 hours before I got bored and dropped it.  After trying out a bunch of other games, I went back to Riviera and finished it.  I love the music for that game!  Since I explored a secret cave, fought a skeleton dragon named Hades, and got the key to hell, I unlocked an optional dungeon.  Woo hoo for post-game stuff!  The thing that makes this dungeon tough is that the only special moves you can use are for items you mastered in the main quest.  Also, you go to the menu screen if you’re party dies in battle.  It’s a nice challenge that adds about 3 more hours of gameplay to Riviera.

First game I’m going to start when I get home?

Prinny: Can I Really Be The Hero?

I won’t be playing video games for three weeks, so let’s talk about anime.  I’m watching a bunch of new stuff so I can push for certain shows for my school’s anime club lineup next year.  I can’t help but worry when I saw what the current president of the club suggested: Axis Powers Hetalia, Ergo Proxy, Lucky Star, Rozen Maiden, and Rozen Maiden Traumend.  I don’t have any issues with Ergo Proxy, but the other shows….yeah.  Gives me more reason to push for shows I want in the lineup.  Right now, I’m looking at Eden of the East, Sengoku Basara, Valkyria Chronicles, Shangri-La, Boogiepop Phantom, Casshern Sins, Akagi, Toradora, and K-ON.  I’m going to knock out shows until I get my list down to 4 26-episode shows and 2 13-episode shows.

Here are the previous club lineups:

2006-2007

  • Death Note
  • Black Lagoon / Black Lagoon: The Second Raid
  • Jungle Wa Itsumo Hale Nochi Guu
  • The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
  • Higurashi no Naku Koro ni

2007-2008

  • Ouran High School Host Club
  • Seto no Hanayome
  • Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann
  • Speed Grapher
  • Baccano! (1st semester)
  • Serial Experiments Lain (2nd semester)

2008-2009

  • Soul Eater
  • CLANNAD
  • Code Geass
  • Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei / Zoku Sayaonara Zetsubou Sensei
  • Haibane Renmei (1st semester)
  • Kaiba (2nd semester)

Your thoughts?  Any other shows you recommend?  Anything I should drop or avoid?

Until my next post, stay tuned.

~ by WanderingMind on May 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Tales of a Wandering Mind: The Story Begins”

  1. Your list seems pretty good,if you enjoyed Higurashi though i’d recommend the second series:less thrilling than the first one,but a lot of plot points get solved in it.
    And if you are in the mood for something more heavy on action but with a fair share of mystery,i really recommed Darker Than Black.

  2. I wanna watch Darker Than Black badly.

Leave a Reply

 
