The Kins’ E3 Comments

AltWeissWell, the Big 3 have had their conferences at E3, and I was lucky enough to be on hand to watch all 3 streaming, so here’s my take on what I saw this year.

Microsoft
As far as games are concerned, well, Modern Warefare 2 and MGS Rising looked good, but I can get those on the PS3. As far as exclusives go Alan Wake looked interesting, but Halo: Reach and L4D2 caught my eye the most. Natal seems an interesting concept, but I’ve got to see more to be convinced, especially since I don’t see it being used for much more than basic party games. Not a bad conference, but nothing to convince me to buy a 360 anytime soon.

Nintendo
Boring for the most part, yes. But they won in my book simply for delivering the one thing I wanted the most this year: a new Metroid. I went crazy when the trailer started and I heard “Any objections, Lady?”, this is exactly what I wanted, and Team Ninja on board should make for an interesting and fun game. I loved Super Mario Galaxy, so the announcement of Galaxy 2 was a pleasant one, and I look forward to the game. While brief, the showings of Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days, Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles and Dead Space: Extraction pleased me, and all 3 will be quick purchases after release, if not day 1 buys.

Sony
Good stuff, Sony, presentation-wise, you win, but there was nothing that I didn’t already know about that really got me excited. Gran Turismo PSP and 5 look great, but that’s to be expected (NASCAR surprised me, but I’m not a NASCAR fan.) Uncharted 2 looks great, I still need to play the first one, but it definitely won me over. SE showed off a FFXIII trailer as expected, but unexpectedly announced FFXIV, pleasing me that they were working on a successor to XI, but nothing I’m probably going to care about for another year. MGS: Peacewalker, well, the second they showed the picture of Big Boss last week, I knew it was coming, that just made it official. Box scene at the end made me laugh. The mention of RE: PSP got me excited…but they just moved right on to my disappointment. The LBP Cart Racer looks neat, might have to pick it up. God of War III? I don’t give a damn to be honest, I never was able to get into the franchise.

So, the highlight announcements for me were Metroid: Other M, Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Final Fantasy XIV. Presentation-wise, Sony wins hands down, followed by Microsoft and Nintendo, but when it came to games I wanted overall, Nintendo takes the crown, followed by Sony.

Regarding the other confrences taking place during E3, I can’t comment much since after Metroid, about the only remaining possible announcements I could care about would have been Kingdom Hearts III, Zone of the Enders 3 or Crono 3.

~ by Sushikins on June 5, 2009.

One Response to “The Kins’ E3 Comments”

  1. Bastard, How dare you not praise God of War III!
    :DamnYou:

    Nice first post, expecting more of this type.

Leave a Reply

 
