Kimi Ni, Mune Kyun

Ah, the start of a fresh new category on the blog! This will be my place for animu reviews and whatnot. For those who aren’t aware, the name is a pun on the Higurashi no Naku Koro ni and Umineko no Naku Koro ni shows/visual novels, and means “When The High School Girls Cry”.

I know, it’s pretty nerdy. But hey, so is Jill’s Sandwiches. Give me a break.

As the title might tip some people off, this particular post is going to be about Maria†Holic, an anime that aired beginning January of this year and ran for twelve episodes. It was recommended to me by fellow blogger Orpheon, and the premise was so ridiculous and amazing I couldn’t resist. I ended up starting it yesterday, and finished it today, which is more than I can say for quite a few shows.

Sinister looking, isn't it?

Sinister looking, isn't it?

The anime is an adaptation of the manga of the same name, and the premise is pretty much as follows: Miyamae Kanako wishes to follow in her mother’s footsteps and meet her special someone at the all-girls school Ame no Kisaki. Unlike her mother (who married a male teacher), however, Kanako happens to be a somewhat perverted lesbian and is after a female partner. Kanako loathes boys and even breaks out in hives when they touch her. She ends up meeting Shidou Mariya, one of the most popular students, and finds out a deadly secret. Mariya’s kind and sweet exterior, which Kanako prizes as her ideal girl…turns out to be a façade to hide the fact that Mariya is in fact a crossdressing sadistic boy. Hilarity ensues.

This gag gets used a lot.

This gag gets used a lot.

The show is heavy on gags and nonsensical character thought, in what might be considered a little similar to Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei’s style. In fact, both are made by SHAFT, and Maria†Holic actually parodies Zetsubou Sensei several times during the course of the show. They also regularly break the fourth wall, and any moment of seriousness is usually broken up by something just ridiculous enough to make the viewer remember it’s just a show.

I can’t really remember the BGM all too much, which is surprising considering I finished the show today, but it likely blended well but was overall forgettable. The opening and ending, on the other hand, were absolutely insane and worth the watch. The opening music isn’t my favorite, but the visual content is what’s so crazy and awesome. The ending, on the other hand, has an amazingly catchy song that is also terribly addicting, with cutesy video game style animation.

I won’t link the ending, partly because I don’t want to be blamed for anyone becoming addicted to it, and partly because I couldn’t find a good enough version to post anyway. While I’m discussing visuals, I should mention the show is fairly fluidly animated, with one or two particularly nice sequences, but even on the DVD releases (I watched the first half of the series in DVD quality) it still isn’t anything mind blowing.

Should you watch it? That depends. Interested in having a lot of fun and laughs, but not really looking for anything deep? Go for it. Don’t deny the inner self: enjoy this guilty pleasure. One warning, though; the ending isn’t particularly satisfying, and simply feels like the show ends prematurely, and that more episodes were due. I’m pretty sure it’s because of the manga still running (I think), but who knows. As of the fall season of 2009, there is no sequel planned, so be warned on that at least.

Also, Orpheon’s favorite character is Matsurika, who also wants you to watch the show.

How can you deny this face?

How can you deny this face?

~ by Vaikyuko on August 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “Kimi Ni, Mune Kyun”

  1. Matsurika is the best character in the show but at points I found Kanokon’s persistence to be…annoying. Not many times but they were still there.

    But I also did a review on this back at BtP. :ahoy:

    Damn that was a long time ago…

  2. Hey,you found the missing episodes then: awesome.
    >I won’t link the ending, partly because I don’t want to be blamed for anyone becoming addicted to it <
    Oh,i am already and thanks to the title of the post now i'll see Kimi Ni Mune Kyun everytime i check my BL page,forcing me to listen to it.You did it on purpose,didn't you?

Leave a Reply

 
