I Have These Games To Play

baccano39xo6-avatarRemember how I posted that rant about my week from hell?  I ended up going to the hospital that night.  A combination of stress, lack of sleep, and not eating enough was what did me in.  Not a good night at all.  I decided to go to sleep after finishing my blog that night, but I went to the bathroom before going to bed.  I sat on the toilet and soon before I knew it, I passed out and landed on the floor.  I don’t know exactly how long I was out for, but I guess it was about half an hour.  The scary thing was that I was the only one awake on my floor at the time.  So I woke up in a cold sweat and sat in the bathroom stall for about 10 minutes before crawling out of the bathroom.  I tried to walk back to my room, which wasn’t very far away from the bathroom, but I couldn’t make it.  I woke someone up with my shouting while I was out and got him to call public safety.  I then had two options: I could sleep off the rest of the night and go to the health center the next day or go to the hospital right away.  I decided to go the hospital.  I ended up staying in the emergency room from 3:30 am to 11:30 am.  Thankfully, they didn’t find anything wrong with me.

If there was one thing I got out of it, it was that I really need to look out for myself more often and change some of my habits.  I now eat 3 times a day, try to go to bed earlier than I used to, and do my homework so it doesn’t pile up at the last minute.  This means I have to cut back on some of my gaming time, though.  Also, I’m no longer writing match descriptions for the Anime and RPG Tournament Leagues on Foxkei because I don’t have the time to do it and I really need to take it easy for the rest of this year.  Thank you to Scion_of_Life for taking over for me.

When I do get the time to play video games, I have this little problem:  I have nothing to play but RPGs.  I burned through most of my other games during this summer, September, and a good part of last month.  I’m actually busy with homework this year compared to last year, so I don’t always have the time to play RPGs.

I was talking with a friend at lunch on Sunday and I was telling her about my problem of having nothing to play but RPGs.  She suggested that maybe it wasn’t a bad thing after all because I can pace myself and set aside certain hours to play through them.  I never thought of it that way before.  Usually, when I get advice about gaming in college, it’s to stay away from RPGs as much as possible.  I see where people are coming from when they say that, but I love my RPGs too much to not play them.  With games like Viewtiful Joe or even The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, I would play them for as long as I could and not stop until I was ready to give out.  With Viewtiful Joe, this wasn’t a problem since I beat the game in 5 hours on Kids Mode, but Wind Waker was another story.  Near the end of the game, I decided to do a no sleep until clear.  Problem was, I had to get enough Rupees to buy the Triforce Maps needed to get the Triforce Pieces.  Even with the assistance of a guide from Gamefaqs, it was very time consuming.  By the time I got to Ganon’s Tower, it was 5 am.  At that point, I had two options: go to bed or stay up and beat the game.  Mind you, I was up all of Saturday night and was on a roll, so I went with the second option.  I stormed Ganon’s Tower, fought all the bosses, and made my way up to fight Ganondorf.  The fight was fairly easy and I dealt the final blow.  It was now 7:30 am.  There went my Saturday night and my normal sleep schedule for most of next week.  I would feel like crap for the next few days, but it was worth it to beat Wind Waker about 7 days after finishing Twilight Princess on the Wii.

I wouldn’t do that anymore because I’m trying to improve my sleeping habits.  Right now, I’ve been focusing all my attention on Tales of Symphonia.  I’ve been pretty good about putting time aside from that game since it’s very easy to find places to save.  It also helps that there are plot synopses to remind me where I last left off.  Why can’t more RPGs have that feature?  I try to get in at least an hour a day during the weekdays given that I can get my homework done in time and have nothing else to do and give myself a lot of time during the weekends to make progress.  So far, it’s been going great and I hope to move on to Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door once I finish Symphonia.

For those of you in school, how do you handle playing RPGs?

~ by WanderingMind on November 3, 2009.

5 Responses to “I Have These Games To Play”

  1. What I do with games of all types (not just RPGs) is this: after classes and before dinner, I’m allowed to play and screw around unless I have a LOT of work (multiple reading assignments, essays, etc). After dinner (which I get back from around 6PM), I normally work until 9PM on homework, unless I have virtually nothing, and from 9PM to 11PM am allowed to play games. I’m in bed immediately after and wake up around 8-9AM, depending on if I end up staying up a little. It works well.

  2. Sounds like you have everything under control. Since I have my car on campus and can drive over to a game store whenever I feel like it, the urge to buy new games is really high. You know what I do? Do other stuff like read manga or watch whatever anime is on my to-watch list. Right now, I’m trying to finish reading Tsubasa: Reservoir Chronicles. I can read stuff in short burts and it’s probably a good thing that I do, because the plot is starting to hurt my head. Still love the manga, though. I buy stuff off the Wii Store and Xbox Live, but I see that as different from buying a physical copy of a game. Last night, I was in the mood for an action game and downloaded Splosion Man for XBLA. I’ll add it to the backlog later on.

  3. RPGs…that’s all I have to play too, lol. Basically I play when I can, and usually only for 1-2 hours. Enough to make a bit of PROGRESS. If they’re portable (like I’m playing FF1 GBA right now), there’s a better chance I’ll play them…

  4. Progress is always a good thing. I’m trying to limit my portable use because I’m saving them for when I study abroad in Japan, but it wouldn’t hurt for me to make some progress in Pokemon Silver. (I seriously need to beat that game)

  5. I’m in quite a similar situation at uni. My course has a lot of work to do each week and I only find a few hours every day at most to play games. Also the fact that I pretty much only play RPGs doesnt exactly help me in making much progress…

    So I try to play at most 3 games at any one time and on portable systems where possible as I can take them along to uni and play bit by bit in my free hours on campus. But since starting uni in September I’ve not completed any games T_T

    Still, I love RPGs way too much to stop playing them =D

Leave a Reply

 
