Reach Out to the GAEMS!

It’s been a while, and I just feel like posting right now, despite not knowing what I’m going to be blogging about. Basically, the current school quarter is hell right now, and I just want to get through with it! Finals are next week, and hopefully I’ll be a lot more happy by the end of them! Next quarter should be better, only taking three classes, and one of them is a Japanese film and culture class, so basically, I learn about movies and stuff from Japan, and even get to watch them! It should be fun, I hope.

Anywho, on with the actual reaching out to the GAEMS. In the past couple of months of school that I have not posted on this blog, I basically have gotten a bunch of games and beaten quite a few. Of course the Get-Beat ratio is probably very very very very very very unbalanced, but at least I’m doing better in making some progress! Although I’ll probably never really get even close to beating Bak’laag like Wan-chan and Kyuko-chan are trying to do, I’ll try to at least thin out the amount of games I have to beat. Some really good ones too! I really want to replay some old games that I have beaten before though, but the fact that I have so many new games to just plain start just makes it hard to do so, sadly. Anywho, let’s talk games that I’ve beaten since Mana-Khemia 2!

I finally got to beat the second Ace Attorney game just days after beating Mana-Khemia! Not sure how I started playing that again out of the blue, but when I did, I just got hooked again! And I do agree with everyone that the last case was well worth getting through. It even brought me to tears~! Ahh, the wonderful friendship between Phoenix and Maya. It’s such a great thing!

A typical boss fight in Muramasa: The Demon Blade

I also DID end up beating Muramasa: The Demon Blade, as I had mentioned before. On the 22nd no less! Which is/was the day of BEAT for me. I’ll get into more details about that later I guess. The criteria for Muramasa’s beat was beating both Momohime and Kisuke’s stories. Some people just marked it as beat after beating one of them, but I felt that wasn’t right. I still have to get two more endings for both characters though, so I might go for the Complete eventually. Also, about the quality of the game, it’s a whole lot of fun! It’s not as RPG-y as Odin Sphere for sure, however it still was great slashing through all those ninjas and demons as Momohime and Kisuke, with the great variety of katanas. My favorite parts of the game has to be the boss fights though, like in Odin Sphere, they’re quite fun and difficult. Also, the fact that my favorite seiyuu, Sawashiro Miyuki voices Momohime is always a plus. The only flaw I found was in the localization, in which Ignition opted to only translate the JIST of the dialogue. I feel like there should be a whole lot more to the characters than what I read in the translations, especially since they kept the Japanese voices in, it seems like they omitted a lot of little details in the conversations they had. Knowing the little Japanese that I know, I did catch a few things that weren’t put down in the text that was said. So I was quite disappointed with that. I’m sure the original script was just as beautiful and deep as Odin Sphere’s. If only Atlus had done the job again… Heck, I think XSEED would have done a better job if only they hadn’t given the game to Ignition. They did the same with Arc Rise Fantasia, and now I’m afraid for the life of that game’s translation too. ;_; If anyone has played Nostalgia, please let me know of the translation quality!

I also FINALLY ended up beating Arcade mode in BlazBlue with ALL the characters. I need to get through the story mode still though, at least before Continuum Shift comes out here. With fighting games, it’s hard to distinguish when the game is beat. So, I guess I’ll just make my own judgments depending on the games themselves. If I feel like I can be good enough to beat Arcade mode with all characters, then that will be the beat, however, with games like SNK vs. Capcom 2, I think beating it once will be enough to be honest. The system is much too advanced for my RPG-mind. And I never plan on playing it very competitively anyway, or with friends, and if it’s with friends, it’s only for fun in the first place. *nods* Speaking of BlazBlue, I recently made a Noel lovebar!

No hat

358/2 Days Boxart

I also beat Kingdom Hearts: RE:Chain of Memories as well as 358/2 Days. RE:Chain became quite tedious to go through after a while, and Reverse/Rebirth was a pain because some of the decks that Riku gets just plain SUCK. (Stupid Wonderland Deck. :mad:) It’s a good game nontheless, and the surprise boss that wasn’t in the original made me squeal like a fangirl! *ahem* Also, 358/2 Days was such a blast to play through, I just couldn’t stop playing it! The story was kind of lacking, but I still enjoyed it. Xion is pretty awesome too, in my opinion. I know a lot of people don’t like her and consider her a filler, but she was still pretty likable in my eyes. It’s a great game, and those that love Kingdom Hearts will most likely love it as well. Besides, Roxas > Sora. 😀 The game very much made me want to play Kingdom Hearts 2 again, and it seems a lot of other Backloggers felt the same way. I remember Noi and Noxie having it on their Now Playing lists after they beat Days. I would have too, if I actually had it with me at the time. XD

The last game I beat was Mario & Luigi: Partners in Time. I was in just a couple of hours away from beating it before starting it up again. I had no idea I was so close to the end, so it surprised me at how quickly I beat it! I mostly beat it to justify my purchase of Bowser’s Inside Story though, which I heard was ridiculously awesome, so I’ll get to it eventually. I can’t say much about Partners in Time because I can’t remember most of it, but the last stretch of it was pretty fun! I did like the game, and the writing was good as always for the Mario RPGs! I’m sure I’ll enjoy Bowser’s Inside Story quite a bit too, and hopefully I won’t stop in the middle of it and not play for 4 years and forget everything about it before coming back to it like I did with Partners in Time.

I got quite a few games over the past three months or so. Honestly, I really really shouldn’t have gotten so many. Who knows when I’m going to play all of them? I need to be stronger and actually RESIST buying games, especially the ones I don’t even plan to buy! Anywho, games I got since my last post: Tales of Vesperia (PS3), Metal Gear Solid: Essential Collection (PS, PS2), Persona (PSP), Disgaea 3 (PS3), Uncharted (PS3), Kingdom Hearts: 358/2 Days (DS), Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2), Final Fantasy Fables: Chocobo’s Dungeon (Wii), Demon’s Souls (PS3, The Deluxe Edition), Banjo-Kazooie (XBLA), Shadow Complex (XBLA), Little King’s Story (Wii), Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of the Sky (DS), Tales of Innocence (DS), Romancing SaGa (PS2), Devil Survivor (DS), Mario & Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story (DS), Uncharted 2 (PS3), Atelier Annie (DS), Stella Deus (PS2), Left 4 Dead 2 (360), New Super Mario Bros. Wii (Wii), Metroid Prime Trilogy (Wii), Devil May Cry: 5th Anniversary Collection (PS2), A Boy and his Blob (Wii), Resident Evil: The Darkside Chronicles (Wii), and most recently, Pokemon Rumble (WW). Yeah, that’s a lot. And I STILL WANT MORE. Like RE1 and 2 for PSN among others. Also have Spirit Tracks and Crystal Bearers coming in next month, as well as AR TONELICO III(!!!!!!!!!!!!!) in January.  Bak’laag would be proud… I don’t know if that’s something I want or not though. Orpheon-sama is probably shaking his head as he’s reading this list going, “Oh Rar, you disappoint me.” too.  ;_; I’m sorry Orpheon-sama!

Speaking of Ar tonelico III… Once it was announced, I preordered as soon as I could have, and I REALLY REALLY want to get the Hymmnos Concerts and everything else~ *_*

I was too lazy to search for a screenshot, so I'm just using one of my sigs. 😀

One more thing! I am near the end of Persona 4, reaching out to the truth! After months of Orpheon-sama begging me to play it, I’m finally nearing the end! It seems I won’t be able to max out six of the Social Links though, sadly. Those being Fortune, Temperance, Death, Hanged Man, Hermit, and Tower. *sigh* Oh well, there’s always a second playthrough! I’m going to try to get the True Ending! However, I’m going to consider getting the good ending as beat first, because well… Everyone else has anyway. Oh SMT, how cruel thou can be with thine enemies. Stupid Shadows costing me some hours of gameplay by killing me in the middle of grinding. T_T Oh well, it’s all the more gratifying when you blast through the dungeon I guess! Persona 4 is great fun, the characters are quite lovable, and the story’s philosophies on the way people think aren’t too far off from the truth. It’s quite interesting to think about actually, that’s probably why I like the Persona games though, they have very deep and compelling stories behind them.

Err… Yeah. I think that’ll be it for now. I kind of want to talk about my themes too, but I’m not sure if I should, or am allowed to or not. So yeah. XD

Well, thanks for reading everyone!

~ by Rarutos on November 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “Reach Out to the GAEMS!”

  1. >checks list of bought games
    Son,i am disappoint.You’ll have to beat all of them by the end of…February,this is my ultimatum.

  2. Sorry for taking so long to read and comment on your post. I’ve been busy with stuff. XD;

    I think I have Vaik beat in the race to defeat Bak’laag. *flexes*

Leave a Reply

 
