Wandering in Japan

It’s been about a month since I’ve been in Japan. I can’t believe it’s already been that long. It must mean that I’m really enjoying it here. Yes, I’m having the time of my life here in this country. I’m looking forward to many more months in Japan. For the first two weeks I was in Japan, I traveled to Kyoto and Osaka with a group of people from my school. Along the way, I stopped in Hiroshima, Nara, and Himeji City. I saw a lot of temples, shrines, and a lot of other places. Even though it was nice to visit a lot of those places, it was very tiring. So much, that on the one free day I had, I decided to stay in my hotel and only go out to get food. It didn’t help that I was recovering from a cold at the time. I’ve gotten better since then. I took about 400-500 photos during those two weeks. The scary part for me is that certain people have taken even more photos than I did. Though, I think 400-500 is a lot during that amount of time. I got some great pictures, from photos of me in places to funny Engrish. At the end of the trip, I bought Tales of VS and Hatsune Miku: Project Diva.

Since my spring semester in Tokyo doesn’t start until March, I went to the next part of my stay in Japan: Fukuoka City.  Located on the island of Kyushu, Fukuoka City is where I have been taking classes at a language school from the end of January to the beginning of March.  When I’m not in class, I’m off exploring the city and doing a lot of stuff outside of gaming and sitting on my computer.  I can go anywhere on trains as long as I have enough money on me.  Also, inexpensive restaurants do exist.

I like to think I’ve been pretty good about spending money so far.  There have only been two times where I spent a lot of money in one day.  The first weekend I was in Fukuoka City, I went to Comic City, a comic fest with a lot of cosplayers and fan circles selling doujinshi.  It was the first kind of event I’ve ever been to.  I was lost at first and found myself wandering aimlessly, so I sat down and looked at the guide.  I wasn’t able to make out a lot of Japanese, but I went by the illustrations for each table and located the stuff I wanted.  I ended up buying four doujins that day.  In all, it was pretty successful.

Then there was last weekend.  I discovered the nearest Mandarake, a store that sells anime, manga, video games, figures, toys, doujinshi, and much more.  I saw some stuff in there that would make certain people jealous, especially with the price on some of that stuff.  For example, I saw a copy of Xenogears Perfect Works for 13,700 yen.  What I ended up getting was the Persona 4 OST and 6-7 doujins of the fandoms I’m into.  There was a lot more I could have bought, but I’m very happy with what I got.

Oh, did I mention getting a sweet fedora while I was in Kyoto?  I had time one day while waiting at a bus stop, so I went into a nearby hat shop.  I found this one fedora that I really liked, only to look at the price tag and see it was 14,000 yen.  It happened to be on sale for only 4,000 yen.  Of course, I bought it.

I find that I’ve been drinking more now that I’m in Japan.  Of course, I can drink because the drinking age here is 20.  Nothing is more satisfying than drinking a cold glass of beer after getting out of a hot spring bath.

I’ve only done one side trip since I’ve been in Fukuoka City, and that was to Yamaguchi City in the western part of Honshu.  I had to go there for a day and a half because my host parents had to do some work there for a weekend.  The city was very small and there wasn’t much to do, but at least it had a sweet library.  Maybe I’ll have time for a side trip to Nagasaki on any given weekend.  I just have to make the time and figure out what I want to do.

Japanese TV never ceases to be entertaining.  I haven’t seen any game shows yet while I’m here, but the regular stuff is good enough for me.

Since my classes end on March 5 and I don’t fly back home until March 10, I’ll have time to take a short trip to any place in Japan of my choice.  I decided that I’m going to take a trip to Hokkaido.  I would go to Okinawa, but there’s a possibility I may be going there during the spring.  It’s going to be cold up there, but I can deal with it.

Until next time, I’m Wandering, and this is MOU, signing off.

~ by WanderingMind on February 11, 2010.

3 Responses to “Wandering in Japan”

  1. Man, that sounds amazing.

  2. D: We miss you!
    Have fun!

  3. @Tenks: It sure is! 😀

    @Tijuana: Will do!

Leave a Reply

 
