Swag ‘N Stuff

Here in Japan, I have the opportunity to do a lot of stuff.  I get to see lots of places.  I go there.  I do stuff.  I also get to buy a lot of stuff I like.  This past Saturday and last week on Sunday, I got to go to Akihabara.  I got to spend all day in Akihabara last week, wandering from place to place.  I went into some game stores, played some games at some arcades.  I got to try BlazBlue: Continuum Shift.  There was so much stuff I wanted to buy in stores, but I needed enough money to get me back home and enough money to last me while I’m in Japan until July.

I thought I wouldn’t have a chance to go back to Akihabara for a while, but then I had the opportunity this past Saturday.  This weekend, I went to Tokyo and Nikko with my parents since they happened to be on vacation in Japan while I was here.  On Saturday, I went around the city and one of the last stops of the day before dinner was at Akihabara.  My parents went to a camera store to look at some stuff, so I went off on my own to some shops I didn’t have time for the last time I was there.  Again, I really had to look after my money and only had so much stuff I could carry around.  I mean, I had to carry everything with me until I returned to my host family’s place yesterday evening.

Most of what I’ve bought so far have been artbooks, figures, and plushies.  I haven’t bought a lot of doujinshi in Tokyo just yet.  I may save that for later on.  Anyway, let’s go to the meat of this post: the pics.

Click on the pics for larger view.

Catcuar plushie + Gekkokan school emblem

I went into a Kotobukiya store in Akihabara last week, which was the last stop I made that day before taking an hour long train ride back to my host family’s place.  I was walking around on the first floor of the store when I came across a Cactuar plushie.  I remember some people on Twitter talking about it, which prompted me to get one for myself.  Nearby was a Gekkokan high school emblem.  I don’t know what I’m going to put it on, but I do have it in case I want to do something with it.

Hatsune Miku CD

I bought this at a shop that specialized in doujin games and music.  There was a lot of Touhou stuff and a lot of vocaloid CDs.  I’ve listened to a few songs by IOSYS before and listened to some of the songs on this CD while I was at the store.  I liked it enough to warrant a purchase.  I still need to listen to the rest of this CD, which I plan on doing soon.

Baccano! + Valkyria Chronicles artbooks

It’s no surprise that I’m a huge fan of Baccano!  I’m also a fan of Valkyria Chronicles.  I haven’t gotten far in the game, but I will play through it this summer.  I actually bought both of these at a bookstore at Ueno Station while waiting to meet up with my parents on Saturday morning.  The only bad part was that I had to carry them in my backpack for the rest of the day.  The Valkyria Chronicles book was thick!

Tales of Symphonia + Tales of the Abyss artbooks

Grabbed both of these at an Animate in Akihabara.  Pretty basic as far as artbooks go, but nice to have.

Pixiv Girls Collection 2009 + 2010

Probably my favorite artbooks I’ve found so far.  Got the 2009 book at Animate in Akihabara while I got the 2010 book at a bookstore at a train stop around the Tokyo area

Cyndaquil + Totodile

Nabbed both of them at a toy store on top of the Tokyo Metropolitan Tower.  If you’re ever in Tokyo, go to that building.  You get a view of Tokyo that’s much better than Tokyo Tower, is very easy to get to by subway, and best of all, is free.  As nice as Tokyo Tower is, it’s overrated.

Moogle keychain + GYAKUTEN MEETS ORCHESTRA

I couldn’t resist getting a Moogle.  Now it hangs on my backpack.  It’s all good.  Also, I need to give GYAKUTEN MEETS ORCHESTRA a listen to when I have the time.

Rena + Rise figures

Since figures are going to be a pain to carry around and ship back home when it’s July, I had to be really picky about the figures I wanted.  I ended up getting a Rise (Persona 4) figure at one store and a Rena (Star Ocean: Second Story/Second Evolution) figure at another store.  I’m pretty happy with my purchases.

~ by WanderingMind on April 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “Swag ‘N Stuff”

  1. Delicious swag,especially the Baccano! artbook and the Rise figure!

  2. Thank you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
