Anime I’ve Finished So Far

I stopped watching a good amount of anime when my old computer broke in November.  I had a bunch of shows I was watching at the same time, and I lost progress in a lot of them.  Right now, I can count the number of shows on one hand (maybe the other one as well) that I’ve consistently watched or actually finished.

Letsee…there was

1) Toaru Majutsu no Index

2) Soul Eater

3) The Irresponsible Captain Tylor

-and-

4) RE: Cutie Honey

The first show I watched and finished this year was

Toaru Majutsu No Index (A Certain Magical Index)

Based on a series of light novels, Toaru Majutsu no Index takes place in the very modern city known as Academic City.  The show focuses on Kamijo Touma, a boy who goes to school in the city.  Being a Level 0, he has no esper abilities to speak of.  He does have a special ability called the Limit Breaker.  He can cancel any magic or divine power just by using his left hand.  No exceptions.  The tradeoff is that Touma has the worst luck out of any character in the series, something that gets played on throughout the show.

He runs into a number of characters throughout the show.  There’s Index, a girl in a holy-looking outfit who appears on the balcony of Touma’s apartment one day.  There’s Misaka Mikoto, a girl who can generate large amounts of electricity and the main character of the spinoff show, Toaru Kagaku no Railgun.  There are a bunch more characters, but I want to keep this brief.

The show is broken up into different story arcs, each focusing on certain characters and such.  There’s a good amount of action, a good amount of character development, and that’s about as much as I can say.

Soul Eater

I watched the first half of this show in anime club back when I used to go to club.  From September 2008 to May 2009, I met at club and watched one episode of Soul Eater along with one episode of four other shows once a week.  When the school year ended, we had to finish Soul Eater on our own.  I lost progress of this show, watched a few episodes later that year, but didn’t pick it up until two months ago.

The first half of the show introduced the main characters, Maka, Soul, Black Star, and Death the Kid and Medusa, one of my favorite villains I’ve seen in any anime.  Sadistic yet likeable.  Add the slick animation and a darn catchy soundtrack and this is a shounen action show that I’ve really enjoyed.

Though, the second half of the show was pretty uneven.  There were the awesome episodes.  Then there were the filler episodes.  Then there were the Excalibur episodes, some of the most annoying filler episodes I’ve ever watched.  That aside, this is one of the few shounen shows I’ve finished and thoroughly enjoyed.

The Irresponsible Captain Tylor

Probably my favorite show I’ve watched so far this year.  A comedy set in space, this show is about Justin Ueki Tylor, a 20 year old who’s one of the biggest slackers I’ve seen in an anime.  He decides to join the army one day so he can get an easy desk job and retire with a lot of money.  Through a stroke of (dumb?) luck, Tylor becomes the captain of a ship.  Thing is, he’s become the captain of the Soyokaze, a ship that has the worst reputation in the military.  Made up of people like the uptight Yuriko, the always drunk doctor, a bunch of manly Marines, and a whole bunch of other personalities, the ship is supposed to be a lost cause.  Tylor, who is oblivious to what is going on around him, usually gets the Soyokaze in some sort of mess in each episode and somehow manages to pull through at the end of each episode.   There’s the two higher-ups, Admiral Mifune and someone else, who are constantly embarrassed by Tylor and their attempts to find a way to get rid of him are pretty darn entertaining.  Somewhere in the process, Tylor manages to have every female character in the show fall for him.  Heck, even the empress of an enemy empire develops a crush on him.

At 26 episodes, The Irresponsible Captain Tylor never feels like it drags on.  It’s highly entertaining and if you’re in the mood for a show that isn’t moe or just want a show that doesn’t take itself too seriously, I would recommend checking out this show.

The TV anime was the last anime I watched before going off to Tokyo and I plan on watching the 10-episode OVA series when I get back.

RE: Cutie Honey

A remake of a magical girl show from the 1970s, this anime is colorful and has a ton of ecchi.  Honey Kisaragi is an android with a heart who fights evil.  Along the way, she makes a best friend by the name of Na-chan, a detective who at first wants to put Honey under arrest for public disturbance, but later develops feelings for Honey.  There’s action, there’s ton of fanservice, it’s all good.  The 2004 remake is only 3 episodes long, meaning that it can easily be watched in one sitting.

Honey Flash!

~ by WanderingMind on April 19, 2010.

3 Responses to “Anime I’ve Finished So Far”

  1. Just so you know, the Excalibur episodes…aren’t actually all filler. Some of them really did occur in the manga, or so I’m told. D:

  2. Ain’t you’re watching Durarara!! too Wan-kun?

Leave a Reply

 
