RPG-a-thon

It’s been a while since my last post.  I’m now back home and just have two days to pack up before I go back to school.  I haven’t had the motivation to post anything for a while, but now I’m back.

What have I been doing lately?  Well, for one thing, I joined rpgamer606’s RPG-a-thon, where I will take all the unfinished RPGs in my collection and beat them.  Maybe I’ll complete some games along the way.  I originally was going to add games to the marathon as I purchased them, but I put a cap on how many games I put in the marathon because I knew I’d never finish it at that rate.

I’ve been participating in the marathon since the beginning of June.  I was limited to my DS and PSP when I first joined because I was still in Japan and didn’t have any of my consoles with me.   and I have beaten 7 games so far:

Progress is going to be slow since I’m going back to school, but I really hope I can get some of these games out of the way.  The last thing I need right now is to buy more games, since I was doing that already on summer break.

I copied the page notes from my Backloggery page below:

rpgamer606’s RPG-a-thon
Progress – 7/33 games finished
(Updated 8/21/2010)

Wander’s Rules for the Marathon:

1) Any RPG bought during the marathon will be added to the list.
2) I have the right to drop or ragequit any game for one reason or another.
3) At least 2 RPGs should be beaten a month.
4) The deadline for this marathon is August 2011.

Tales of Vesperia (360)
Grandia II (DC)
Final Fantasy V Advance (GBA)
-> Fire Emblem (GBA)
-> Izuna 2 (DS)
-> Valkyrie Profile: Covenant of the Plume (DS)
-> Chocobo’s Dungeon 2 (PS1)
Chrono Cross (PS1)
Eternal Eyes (PS1)
Final Fantasy VII (PS1)
Final Fantasy VIII (PS1)
Final Fantasy IX (PS1)
Dark Cloud 2 (PS2)
Disgaea: Hour of Darkness (PS2)
Dragon Quest VIII: Journey of the Cursed King (PS2)
Final Fantasy X (PS2)
Final Fantasy X-2 (PS2)
Final Fantasy XII (PS2)
-> Kingdom Hearts (PS2)
-> Kingdom Hearts II (PS2)
Okage: Phantom King (PS2)
Sakura Wars ~So Long, My Love~ (PS2)
Shadow Hearts (PS2)
Shadow Hearts: Covenant (PS2)
Shin Megami Tensei: Nocturne (PS2)
Tales of the Abyss (PS2)
Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice (PS3)
Valkyria Chronicles (PS3)
-> Lunar: Silver Star Harmony (PSP)
Persona 3 Portable (PSP)
Suikoden (PSN) ( when started)
-> Disgaea 2: Dark Hero Days (PSP)
Star Wars: Knights of the Old Repbublic (Xbox)

~ by WanderingMind on August 25, 2010.

2 Responses to “RPG-a-thon”

  1. You could try and find out which ones are short games and play them first if you are going to have less time at school. I use RPGamer.com’s reviews for a rough idea of how long games are. Sakura Wars on the Wii is a good game that isn’t too long though, I’d recommend it.
    I’ve got a few of the same games in my list for the marathon actually, Valkyria Chronicles for one. Definitely looking forward to playing that.

    You’re making good progress so far though =D

    • Sorry for the late reply, but I like your idea of looking up game length on RPGamer.com. I’ve been keeping an Excel spreadsheet for my marathon, which includes game length and date beaten.

      I’ve been playing Sakura Wars right now with my roommate and we’re having a lot of fun with it. He’s helping me with dating sim parts and I pretty much handle the battle parts on my own, so it’s working out. =D

Leave a Reply

 
